Taxes, Fees, Surcharges and Other Charges
In addition to your monthly voice and data service charges, you may be billed for taxes, fees, surcharges and other charges. These charges are applied based on your calling plan and billing address.
Charges include, but are not limited to:
Regulatory and Other Recovery Fee:
The Regulatory and Other Recovery Fee is assessed to help defray costs of various federal, state, and local regulatory programs and mandates imposed on us. It also helps to defray costs imposed on Cellcom by other carriers, including costs for using their network to complete calls, interconnection, and cell site rents and maintenance. As of October 1, 2023, the fee is $3.93 per line.
Federal Universal Service Fund Fee:
The Federal USF Charge is assessed to recuperate the costs of Cellcom’s FCC-mandated contribution to the Universal Service Fund. Customers will be charged up to 34.5% of interstate revenue, per line, per month, as of October 2023, to recover the costs of these contributions. This charge is not a tax or a government-imposed fee. The rate of this monthly charge can vary quarterly based on the USF contribution factor established by the Federal Communications Commission.
Wisconsin State Universal Service Fund Fee:
The Wisconsin State USF fee is assessed to recuperate the costs of Cellcom’s Wisconsin-mandated contribution to the state Universal Service Fund. As of September 2023, customers will be charged per line, per month, up to 6.92% of assessable charges, which may include access, airtime, long distance and other eligible charges. This charge is not a tax or a government-imposed fee. The state USF is a variable charge that is subject to change monthly. Through this charge, Cellcom recuperates the costs of its mandated contribution.
Michigan E911 Fee:
The Michigan Public Service Commission requires Cellcom to bill a monthly wireless E911 surcharge to all Michigan customers. This charge will appear within the taxes section of your bill. The money collected is used to implement E911 throughout the state of Michigan. The money will be used by county E911 centers and wireless carriers to implement this life-saving service. Customers will be charged $.25 per line, per month for the first 10 lines. Each additional line will be charged $.02 per line, per month. Some counties in Michigan may impose an additional E911 county fee, for more information go to http://www.michigan.gov/msp/0,4643,7-123-72297_47748_47753---,00.html.
Police & Fire Protection Fee:
The state of Wisconsin requires Cellcom to bill a monthly Police & Fire Protection fee to all Wisconsin customers. This charge will appear within the taxes section of your bill. All funds collected will go to a segregated fund, within the state’s general purpose fund, for local and county municipal aid. Customers will be charged $0.75 per line, per month for the first 10 lines. Each additional line will be charged $0.08 per line, per month.
All Federal, State, and Local taxes are computed in accordance with appropriate tax laws. A tax exemption certificate must be filed with our office in order to be eligible for tax exemption status.
Early Termination Fee:
When a line of service is cancelled during its contract term, an early termination fee may be assessed. If you purchase a smart phone, the early termination fee will be $350 reduced by $10 per month for each completed month of the contract term. The early termination fee for a standard phone will be $175, reduced by $5 for each completed month of the contract term. A line of service that cancels after 15 days of signing a service agreement, will be assessed an early termination fee.
Activation and Upgrade Fees:
Devices that are upgraded or activated on the Cellcom network are charged a non-refundable $30 fee. With this charge, equipment is provisioned on the Cellcom Cellular Network, customers are provided with troubleshooting assistance and support to backup equipment, and customer information is migrated to the new device. The fee is applicable to each device type and contract agreement. For Advance Pay customers this fee is owed immediately, at point of sale. All other customers will see the fee on their first or next invoice.